Now you can get all five of the original Simon & Garfunkel studio albums in one boxed set titled Simon & Garfunkel: The Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-1970. The box includes five slipcased discs with all the songs and reproduced LP artwork for "Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.," "Sounds of Silence," "Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme," "Bookends" and "Bridge Over Troubled Water." All the albums have been remastered for this five-CD set, and each includes previously unreleased tracks recorded by the folk-pop duo during the mid-late '60s. Among the many hits are "The Sound of Silence," "I Am a Rock," "Scarborough Fair/Canticle," "Homeward Bound," "The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)," "America," "Old Friends," "Mrs. Robinson," "A Hazy Shade of Winter," "Bridge Over Troubled Water," "Cecilia," "The Boxer," and more. The discs are also available for purchase separately.

Joy DivisionNew Order is returning this fall with Get Ready, its first album since 1993's Republic. Rhino Records is betting the return of New Order will renew interest in the band's predecessor, Joy Division. A new four-CD Heartandsoul box set includes every studio recording Joy Division made during its short career (1977-1980), as well as an entire disc of live concert material. Following the suicide of singer Ian Curtis (two days before the band's planned first American tour), Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris and Peter Hook regrouped and formed New Order with keyboardist Gillian Gilbert, which continued the gothic, gloomy sound of Joy Division on its first couple of albums, before graduating to the poppier synth-dance sounds that gave it a string of ubiquitous late-'80s, early '90s hits with "Bizarre Love Triangle," "Blue Monday," "Regret" and "True Faith."

Disc one of Heartandsoul offers Joy Division's first releases, including the entire debut album Unknown Pleasures, along with outtakes, compilation cuts, singles and flexi-disc versions. Disc two offers more singles and rarities along with their second (and final) album Closer, as well as the band's doom and gloom single, "Love Will Tear Us Apart." Disc three includes their first EP "An Ideal for Living," along with Peel Session recordings (a BBC radio show), demos and other cuts never released in the U.S. Disc four offers a taste of the band live from four different concerts.

Speaking of repackaging and reissuing, Epic's Legacy label arm has issued a two-CD Special Collectors' Edition of Forrest Gump, The Soundtrack. Originally released in 1994, the soundtrack hit the Billboard Pop Album chart Top 10, thanks to its inclusion of nine No. 1 classic singles. The album has since sold more than 12 million copies. Among the vintage Americana hits included on the soundtrack are Elvis Presley's "Hound Dog," Creedence Clearwater Revival's "Fortunate Son," The Four Tops' "I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)," Aretha Franklin's "Respect," Bob Dylan's "Rainy Day Women No. 12 & 35," Simon & Garfunkel's "Mrs. Robinson," Three Dog Night's "Joy to the World," Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Sweet Home Alabama," and more. The reissued edition also features two more songs that were in the film but not on the original soundtrack album release: "Running on Empty" by Jackson Browne and "Go Your Own Way" by Fleetwood Mac. The release of the revised soundtrack coincides with the film's reissue on DVD.


Sci-Fi on CD:

Farscape Fans of the Sci-Fi Channel's innovative and challenging original science fiction series "Farscape," produced by the Jim Henson Company, can now get the soundtrack music from the show's first two seasons on the CD Farscape: Music From The Original Soundtrack. The CD features 23 tracks, including both the long and short versions of the infectious and exotic "Theme From Farscape" (the short version is what is used to open the TV show). Some of the disc's music, by SubVision and Guy Gross, is your basic background orchestral fair the kind of thing you'd hear playing behind scenes in a variety of feature films. The string-laden "Goodbye," from the episode "PK Tech Girl," could (except for the synthesized bits) have been lifted from a family TV show like "The Waltons," it's so genteel, and "Namtar's Magic" from the episode "DNA Mad Scientist" is a soothing composition of strings and choral "ahhs" that even includes a harp, before some heavy timpani and bass creep in to add a dark tone. For more information , check the "Farscape" Web site at or order the disc directly from the GNP/Crescendo label at

While on the subject of soundtracks, Rhino Records has released a second disc of music from the animated series "Batman Beyond." The new collection, Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker, is the soundtrack for a direct-to-video animated movie and seems a little more orchestral and less cutting edge industrial than the previous Batman Beyond CD, which was a collection of themes taken from "Batman Beyond" television episodes. The latest installment from the "Batman Beyond" musical team still includes plenty of big crunchy fuzz-guitar riffs. For more information on "Batman Beyond," check